Posted by: zebe912 | February 21, 2009

Potato Leek Soup

I haven’t posted in forever. I’ve been cooking dinner, but I haven’t been creating anything of interest. I haven’t been baking much at all either. However, I’ve been wanting to try potato leek soup for a while and found an organic leek at the market so that got me moving. It is really cold, snowy, & windy today so its the perfect day for this soup. I found two recipes on allrecipes to start from and then made it into this:

4 large potatoes, peeled & cubed
1 large carrot, sliced & diced
1 leek, rinsed & sliced
2 TBSP butter
~2 cups chicken broth
1/2 cup diced ham (or you could cook up bacon)
1/2 cup milk or cream
salt & pepper to taste

Place carrots & potatoes into a pot and boil with the chicken broth. Add salt & pepper to taste. Melt butter in a frying pan and saute’ the leeks for 5-10 minutes until tender (it depends on how you slice them). Once potatoes are tender, mash about half of them or puree with a hand blender. Add the cooked leeks, the diced ham, and milk. Stir and heat through. Adjust salt & pepper again to taste. I added a bit of shredded cheese to my bowl & let it melt. That was yummy.

If you don’t eat dairy, this would be nearly as good without the milk and you could saute’ the leek in your oil of choice. For texture you could add a bit more broth with the leeks.

One of the recipes I looked at cooked bacon (instead of the ham) in the fry pan and then sauteed the leeks in that oil. It sounds really tasty to me, but we don’t have any bacon and I’m not going out in this wind!

Leave a Reply

Categories

