Posted by: zebe912 | November 26, 2008

Hey Babycakes

Baby Cake, singular, actually.

A few weeks ago I had the pleasure of making the baby shower cake for a friend of mine. I had done a cake for her pre-wedding bash and so I really wanted to do one for her now, as well. The only problem was that I didn’t know enough about their baby plans to really customize the cake the way I wanted. I went through many photos to get inspiration. Luckily, just about the time I was deciding, another friend got some good intel for me and I was able to make this cake personalized just as I’d hoped.

1115081310a

1115081310b

I had to take these pics with my cell phone which doesn’t have a flash for some reason.  The good photos are on friend #3’s camera so I don’t have them to post.  The blocks have baby’s initials in the theme colors of the nursery (well 2 out of 3 since they changed the middle name 2 days pre-shower and no one knew) .  Jungle animals to match the nursery; Yankee’s logo, baseball, & bat as a nod to dad; and then Baby Dem (complete with donkey) & 100% USA baby because both parents work in politics.  Onesies were decorations for the shower, and I happened to find some sugar form onesies so those and mini baby bottles are “scattered” on the cake as well.

Many thanks to the other bloggers & forum-pals who helped me brain storm ideas for this cake.  It took lots of ideas merged together to make this one work.  Congrats L & CA!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

