Posted by: zebe912 | November 10, 2008

Spaetzle, a flash back

When I gave up wheat flour, and went through many less-than-successful gluten free recipes, I thought spaetzle was forever gone from my diet.  Tonight, since we were having pork chops, and I was really craving these little noodley dumplings, I decided I had to give it a try.  I found one recipe that at least gave me a start.  But if I’ve learned anything from all the ruined GF recipes, it is:

NEVER USE ONLY ONE TYPE OF GLUTEN FREE FLOUR AT A TIME!

It sounds dumb, because with wheat flour, you just through AP in everything and it turns out great.  But if you use just rice flour or just tapioca flour, you end up with some weird flavors and textures.  I’ve found that I usually need 3-4 flours/starches to resemble a texture I want to put in my mouth.  So, here’s my version.  I was SO happy with it.  The texture and the flavor were perfect (aside from the fact I over salted my water). It gave us three big servings, which probably should be 4 reasonable ones 🙂

1/2 cup brown rice flour
1/4 cup millet flour (or another whole grain you like)
1/4 cup tapioca flour
1/8 cup sweet rice flour (1/8 cup=2 TBSP)
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
2 eggs
2-4 TBSP water (more or less to achieve the right consistency)

Heat water to boiling in a sauce pan while completing these steps:

Combine dry ingredients in the bowl. Slightly whip eggs & stir into dry ingredients. Add water until the dough is about the consistency of cookie dough or just a little more moist. Use a potato ricer, colander, or spaetzle press to drop portions of the batter into the boiling water. Scoop out with a slotted spoon, toss with butter & serve.

Some people like herbs in their spaetzle, but I’ve never had it that way, so I don’t make it that way.   You could easily add some dried herbs to the above mixture and adjust to taste.

NOTE: If you’ve never made spaetzle before and need more explaination of the actual cooking process, this blog has a good walk through and photos: Juggling Frogs She uses a spaetzle maker, but you can just push the batter through a colander if you don’t have a press or potato ricer (what I use so it is better if my batter is thicker than hers).

Responses

  1. Spaetzle…I grew up in Southern Germany (Bavaria) having these more often than not. I’m sooo excited to find your gluten-free version and am going to try it tonight. I may even get adventurous and see if I can turn them into Spinatspaetzle…flavored with spinach and then layered with sauteed onions and gruyere cheese.

    • That sounds tasty. Let me know how it turns out!


Leave a Reply

Categories

