Posted by: zebe912 | October 26, 2008

When the gales of November came early

The legend lives on from the Chippewa on down
Of the big lake they call Gitche Gumee
Superior, they say, never gives up her dead
When the gales of November come early.

-Gordon Lightfoot


Today is a very windy and gusty day.  The fall gale winds always make me think of the ships out on the Great Lakes that surround this state I live in.  Namely, this song comes to mind:

If you aren’t from one of the Great Lake states, you may never have heard this song.  Its a bit long, but well worth a listen.  The song is haunting, and really gives the feel for how it might have felt to be stranded in a huge ship, out on the lake, at the total mercy of the weather. I can’t even imagine, but it gives me the chills just thinking about it.  I love it when music can really influence affect.  Perhaps that’s part of why I’m a music therapist.  🙂

So, on a lighter note, we’ve been doing some fall activities to combat the chill. Last night we carved pumpkins, so today I am roasting the seeds, and roasting some squash to make GF pumpkin muffins.  I also experimented with making my own caramel without refined sugar, which you’ll see in my next post.  Lastly, I’m trying to felt a wool sweater so I can make a hat.  That post will come once I get done boiling the sweater on the stove. 🙂

B adding finishing touches, and then helping Harriet kitty work on her pumpkin.

We actually didn’t plan the “family” to come out quite like this, but these are sort of self-characature pumpkins.  Can you guess who made who?

Responses

  1. I am gonna guess that you made the “O” face. LOL. And B makde the crescent moon eyes. Am I right??
    /Clara

  2. You are correct!

  3. Your silly hubby always makes the “O” face in family pictures (and most other pictures, for that matter), so I assumed he made that pumpkin too!

  4. I know, which is why it’s funny that I made my pumpkin do the face that I wish B would QUIT doing in pictures. I think mine was more the face of disbelief…which happens around here a lot too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

