Posted by: zebe912 | August 20, 2008

Shrimp & Asparagus Pasta

For dinner tonight I knew I had asparagus that needed to get used or else it would go to slime.  Since we’ve been working on budgeting/spending better lately, instead of going to the store to buy meat that was already thawed, I decided to use up some frozen shrimp since that defrosts more quickly than chicken.

I never thought that shrimp and asparagus had any business together, nor did I think there was any chance of it being good.  Luckily I was wrong.  I can’t claim any originality on this recipe aside from cutting the fat content WAY down.  I found the recipe on Allrecipes so I’ll post that link and then notate my changes below.

Shrimp & Asparagus by Cathy

First, I got the water for the pasta going.  Because I’m not supposed to eat wheat, the egg noodles were out for me.  I got the water boiling and I used a new pasta that I found recently.  I like it much better than the others I’ve tried since it doesn’t have any weird aftertastes.  I chopped the asparagus into bite size pieces and put it in a steamer basket to place over the pasta.

I melted one tablespoon of butter to saute the garlic, then added two more just before the shrimp went in.  The lightly steamed asparagus went in as well as a little salt & pepper.  After the asparagus looked just the right shade of green, I tossed in the pasta and stirred.  I didn’t bother with mushrooms because neither of us would eat them and I don’t think I have any in the house at all.  We skipped the Parmesan cheese as well just to cut down on the amount of cheese/mold I consume.

We were surprised and impressed at how the bite size asparagus had a very similar texture to the shrimp, which made it very palatable.  I think that tender and correctly cooked asparagus is key!  If I had fully cooked/boiled the asparagus in step one, then it would have become green slime…eww.

Leave a Reply

Categories

