Posted by: zebe912 | August 20, 2008

Cream Cheese Frosting, sans refined sugar

Wow, looking back, there are so many things I thought I posted, or have at least thought about posting, and yet there’s very little on my blog to show it. So, tonight is blog vomit night complete with some new treats I’ve either tried or created. For the most part, I’ve taken the recipes of other, more experience gluten free bloggers, and adapted them to what I actually want to eat. I still have “full junk food” tastebuds, so if it isn’t pretty close to the regular sugar, fat, & wheat filled taste, then it doesn’t make the cut around here.

One thing I thought I had posted already, or at least linked to was my new gluten free recipe for Carrot Cake from Elena (yes, I link to her a lot…she cooks like I’m supposed to so it makes life much easier to have a starting point.)

However, I’ve never really found a cream cheese frosting that I’ve liked, which doesn’t contain a whole bunch of powdered sugar. Seeing as that is refined beyond refined, that is a no go for me. Elana’s recipe looked good, but I didn’t have any whipping cream in the house, so I used what I had. This made a very small batch because I didn’t know if I would like it. I did and it will be made again.

1 TBSP cream cheese or equivalent substitute
1 TBSP marscarpone cheese
Cream these together very well

2 shakes of granulated maple sugar (optional)
1/4-1/2 tsp agave nectar
splash of vanilla extract

Mix all of this well until the maple sugar dissolves. If you don’t have maple sugar, just use a splash of maple syrup. Only the real stuff will do!

Add to Elena’s Gluten Free Carrot Cake. I think putting the carrots through a juicer, or through the food processor on chop after shred makes for a better texture, but then I’ve never liked “strings” of carrot hanging off my fork full of cake even in the old gluten-full days.

Leave a Reply

Categories

