Posted by: zebe912 | August 18, 2008

Juicy Fruit

I always liked that gum for the first minute or so and then it got gross and hard to chew. I actually found a version of Spry gum that tastes very similar but is sugar free. There’s xylitol in it to help with the teeth too. It may be my new favorite gum now that I can’t chew minty flavors anymore.

But that isn’t why I’m writing. Last week I found a used juicer (very clean or I wouldn’t have gotten it) for $2. For that price I couldn’t pass it up, considering I registered for one on our wedding list and never got it. So far I’ve juiced carrots, peaches, blueberries, strawberries, oranges, and some spinach. Not all of that was together mind you, but close.

I don’t know what I expected, but I didn’t realize so much waste would accumulate once the juice extracted. It feels wasteful because I realize that if I just eat the fruit & veggies, then none of it would be wasted and I’d still get the juice part too.

So, for those of you who juice, especially if on a regular basis, I have two questions:

1. Why do you juice rather than just consume the entire fruit/veggie? What do you see as pros/cons?

2. Do you do anything to “reclaim” the waste product.
(Today I threw the carrot guts into my carrot cake recipe, but what about peach gunk, blueberry goo, & strawberry slime?)

Responses

  1. I don’t juice myself, but one of my favorite bloggers has recipe for carrot bread using pulp: http://milkforthemorningcake.blogspot.com/2008/05/residue-thats-good-for-you-carrot-pulp.html
    and another one uses the pulp for raw cookies: http://www.thespunkycoconut.com/2008/08/raw-carrot-spice-cookies.html

    Hope that helps. I’m still wishing for a juicer and dehydrator. One can dream šŸ™‚

  2. Thanks! I knew there had to be juicy people out there who had that sort of info on their blogs. I just haven’t had a chance to do much searching yet.

    A dehydrator is my next wish list. I’m hoping to find a freecycle or resale store one of those too. Until I know I’ll really use them, I don’t figure I should pay full price.

  3. […] but is sugar free. There??™s xylitol in it to help with the teeth too. It may be my new favorite ghttps://zebe912.wordpress.com/2008/08/18/juicy-juice/Pies to prize (The News Journal)Liz Marden knows there are no shortcuts to first-rate […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

