Posted by: zebe912 | August 17, 2008

Healthy Candy

Did I get your attention? How many of you have heard the new trend that nuts should be consumed on a daily basis to aid with coronary issues? I think this is a terrific way to consume your daily portion of nuts. It sure is yummy and is made for those of us who like sweet more than salty! Thanks to Elena for doing the experimenting to come up with these almost-guilt-free turtles.

Candy Bars (Makes 18 small bars…I halved the recipe)
2 tablespoons grapeseed oil (I omitted)
2 teaspoons celtic sea salt (I only used 1/2 tsp total)
2 cups pecans, chopped
1 cup almond butter
½ cup agave nectar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
2 cups dagoba chocodrops

You can skip steps 1-5 if you would rather just toast your pecans in a toaster oven. I did so to cut down on fat & sodium, not to mention 500 in my oven sounded way too hot for today.
1. Preheat oven to 500°
2. Warm grapeseed oil and 1 teaspoon salt in a large saute pan over high heat
3. Add pecans to pan and cook for 3 minutes
4. Remove pecans from pan and immediately transfer to a baking sheet
5. Place pecans in 500° oven for 3 minutes, remove and cool

6. Warm almond butter, agave, vanilla and ½ teaspoon salt in a saucepan over medium heat
7. Remove from heat and stir pecans into almond butter mixture
8. Spread batter into a 8 x 8 inch pyrex dish and freeze for at least 1 hour (I lined it with foil first)
9. Remove from fridge, cut into 1 x 3 inch bars; place on small (parchment paper lined) baking sheet
10. Melt chocolate in saucepan over lowest heat possible
11. Drizzle chocolate over each bar
12. Sprinkle bars with remaining ½ teaspoon salt (I skipped this, I can’t comprehend salt on my chocolate)
13. Freeze and serve (These get gooey quick so store in fridge or freezer)

As soon as I tasted these I knew it would be way too easy to eat too much very quickly.  I cut my bars into small bite size pieces and then just dropped a dollop of chocolate on top of each one.  Taste test to find your ratio, but even this chocolate lover thought less was more.  I love that I can now make myself a treat that is high in protein, uses healthy fats, doesn’t have any refined or artificial sweeteners in it, and tastes YUMMY!!

If I can remember, I’ll take a photo next time I have these out of the fridge.  Elena has a pretty good photo on her site though.

Responses

  1. These sound GREAT!

    The nuts they’re talking about are primarily walnuts due to their omega fatty acids.

  2. Healthy candy? No way! I love pecans! Might have to add caramel to this somehow. Its not a turtle without caramel! Hmmm… probably makes it less healthy though huh? HAHA!

  3. CB, the agave, almond butter and vanilla taste like the caramel. I am a huge fan of turtles and these are just as tasty but don’t get stuck in your teeth. I figured these would just be “eh” like most Gluten Free/ref. sugar free candy, but I would choose these over snickers and other processed bars.

    As for the nuts, Deb, my dad was told to eat any nut fats. Here’s some further info from Natural News’ summary of nut health articles:

    Which nuts are best?

    In the Adventist Study about 32 percent of the nuts eaten were peanuts, 29 percent were almonds, 16 percent walnuts, and 23 percent other types. The Nurses’ Study found that peanuts, which are really legumes, appeared to be just as effective in reducing the risk of coronary heart disease as tree nuts. Experiments where volunteers were fed nuts as part of their diet for several weeks have found that walnuts, almonds, hazelnuts, peanuts, pecans, pistachio nuts, and macadamia nuts all alter the composition of the blood in ways that would be expected to reduce coronary risk.

    Some nuts confer additional health benefits. Walnuts are high in heart healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Almonds are particularly nutritious, with 100 grams yielding 16.9 grams of protein. They also contain a good amount of vitamin B-17, known as laetrile, that many believe is nature’s most effective cancer cure. Brazil nuts are rich in selenium, and only three of them a day will provide you with an amount in excess of the recommended daily allowance in a highly bio-available form.


Leave a Reply

Categories

