Posted by: zebe912 | April 16, 2008

Oh Boy…kitchen overhaul

Normally, if I said I got to make over my kitchen, I would be thrilled. But this time, it is overhauling what is IN the cupboards, via doctor’s “orders.” I’d much rather be getting new cabinets or a pantry or something fun like that. Instead, I’m supposed to get rid of my flour and sugar, and anything containing wheat or gluten. Basically, that means tossing everything I own. I just can’t be that wasteful, so we’ll see how this goes.

Betwixt my various doctors and research I’ve done on my own, I went from trying to phase out refined sugars & flours (basically going to whole wheat and natural sweeteners…which I already thought was a huge change and plenty healthy) to now going wheat free, gluten free, dairy free, yeast free, and sugar (also artificial sweeteners) free. So, as my husband so kindly put it “you just might as well stop eating.” Nice.

I’m not looking forward to this. If you’ve been “reading me” for a while, you know that I love to bake and eat sweet treats. My “addiction” to sugar is part of what brought all of this on though. The theory is that a lot of my moodiness, headaches, and overall lethargy are from the gluten, sugars, & yeast, and abnormal reactions that my body has to them.

Trying to sort through things is mind boggling. There are lots of resources for going gluten free. But add sugar free to that, especially without using artificial sweeteners, and it is near impossible. Luckily I know a little about food allergies from the students I work with (there’s a theory that gluten exacerbates autism symptoms) and from being a camp counselor, as well as having a dietitian for a mom. I’ve found a few cookbooks that are “100% common-allergy-free”.

But is any of it going to taste good?  Is it going to at least be tolerable enough that I’ll be willing to stay on the “diet?” Are there going to be enough health and mental benefits to be worth the huge investment of both time & money to make these huge changes? Am I ever going to be able to eat in a restaurant again? How do I justify, or even continue, baking and decorating cakes, something I love, if I can’t even eat the darn things myself?

It all remains to be seen….at least I don’t have such a huge reaction that if I do eat some of it, I will end up totally miserable for days, like people with celiac or a true gluten intolerance.  But at the same time, it also means my body won’t immediately clue me in to the fact that I ate something detrimental.   So, if you’ve been there, done that, please leave a comment. Any advice for a newbie?

Responses

  1. Oh dang! Sorry that you’re having to deal with this. Maybe you can start strict and slowly introduce items back in and find a good mix that works for you. I’ll be think about you!

  2. Oh no that’s terrible. I am so sorry because honestly, I couldn’t do it. I just couldn’t. Good luck!

  3. I’m not so sure I can do it either. I’m just going to try and stick with it long enough to determine whether it really is making me feel any better, and if not, then I’ll probably start going back to what I thought was a pretty healthy diet to begin with.

  4. Wow. talk about lifestyle change but it will be worth it for your health. Look forward to seeing your “revised” recipes. GL!

  5. Oh, gosh, that sucks!!! I’ll be interested to hear what you CAN eat, and how you make it taste good! I’m sure you’ll be able to come up with some great ideas!!!

  6. Hey, if you need any help, stop by my blog and email me. I am thinking that after 2 months you might have the hang of things now, but there is a great gluten free blogging community out there. It will be nice to have another GF blogger in MI! I saw your comment on GF Gobsmacked re cherries in burger.

  7. Thanks Ginger. This stuff is still a pain. I just don’t like most of the GF flours and other baking items. I find that instead of experimenting with the GF flours, I just don’t bake. It makes me a little sad. But I’m finding new options & resources, so hopefully that will get me in an upswing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

