Posted by: zebe912 | April 15, 2008

Fun with Cake

In my last post I alluded to the fact that I don’t often get to decorate cakes anymore. I also said that I preferred to do them for people who appreciate them. In a funny turn of events, my parents & I decided that we should surprise my sister with a birthday cake at work. (Since she usually makes them for everyone else, like the one in her last post.) My mom was too busy to make one, so I took over the project on Sunday. After 12 or so hours of baking, cooling, testing frosting batches, and then playing with everything, I came up with this, which is a semi-recreation of the greenhouse where she works:

The base is a 15 inch Wilton petal pan with Dorie’s Perfect Party Cake (lemon flavor) from the Daring Bakers Group. The greenhouse was made with a vintage “break away” house pan that my mom has. That is Mocha flavored cake from Molly at Batter Splattered (I LOVE her blog name by the way.) Everything is iced with buttercream frosting and most of the trim work, plants, and wording were piped with it too. There was so much more I wanted to do with this cake, but after midnight I just couldn’t justify the extra time, because it looks cute enough this way.

Despite a long-time hatred of fondant (due to its bad taste), once finding the marshmallow fondant recipe, I’ve come to enjoy working with it and even munching on it once in a while. I could have made a lot of the items out of icing, but the “moldability” of the fondant was super fun. I liked making all of the tiny gardening gadgets. It was making them tiny that was really the challenge (in a good way).

It makes me sad that I don’t get to see Laura when it is presented. I really hope that she likes it and that the party cake (a new recipe to me) is one that people like. Normally I use box mixes so they rise better, but I wanted to try out a new recipe. The party cake didn’t raise as well as I’d hoped and seemed a little dense. But for a first try, hopefully, it was acceptable to those who were eating it.

Happy Birthday Laura!

Responses

  1. Looks great! I’m sure she will love it.

  2. What an awesome sister to bake a cake for her birthday! Cute little greenhouse. I still need to try out that marshmallow fondant. You and Nina rave all the time… one of these days šŸ˜‰

  3. […] haven’t done much baking lately, so I don’t have much to post about. My sister made an awesome birthday cake for me a couple weeks ago. I did a cake tasting for the second wedding cake I’m doing this […]

  4. This is ADORABLE! I love it. You’re quite the talented cake decorator!


Leave a Reply

Categories

