Posted by: zebe912 | April 10, 2008

Sharing the Love

Each time my sister posts one of her cakes, I like to think I had a hand in teaching her how to decorate. In reality though, we developed our skills separately from each other, and she’s always been one for little handicrafts. If anything, we both owe our mom & grandma our decorating talents, not to mention a few “crafty & ingenuity” genes from both sides of our family. Anyway, much to my dismay, Laura’s “career” as a decorator has far surpassed mine. She has friends and contacts, and people who order cakes. I donate one or two each year because those are the only customers I can find over in my little conservative part of the Michigan Mitt. I would love to be decorating more, but I also don’t like to bother with the mess unless I’m making a cake for someone who will appreciate it.

Okay, so my point. Each of my sisters and I have worked at this nursery where Laura is the nursery manager (in other words she keeps the plants from dying and tries to tell the owner what needs to happen to keep things running smoothly). The nursery logo is funny, but also shows the personality of the owner. He always comes across as a little scattered and with too many things on his mind. He knows his plants, that’s for sure, but he’s just a funny guy to get to know. She created this cake for him, and I think it rocks. Go check out her post:

Wildtype Cake

Responses

  1. Just saw your sister’s cake. So fun! and I bet you definitely had a hand in her cake-ing skillz. At least I tell myself that when I see a new jknottie BUing about cupcakes ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I’d say you definitely had a part in honing my skills–at the very least you taught me to do tiers and such.
    Thanks for the link! It’s fun getting comments from people I don’t know. ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

