Posted by: zebe912 | April 10, 2008

Crunchy Goodness

It has been a while, but I finally found time to cook, and now I have something worth posting. Since I’ve reluctantly decided that we need to return to our low/no sugar diet, I have to start weaning myself off of all the sweets that I love. Along with trying to reduce our intake of refined sugar, I’m trying to up whole grains & fiber intake. I don’t like whole wheat flour in a lot of my traditional baking, so I was trying to think of a whole grain snack that I would actually like. Crackers came to mind since I like wheat thins a lot. After some internet searching, I made a half batch of each of these & they were a great success! The grahams have a lot more flavor than store bought.

Homemade Graham Crackers
(Yield: ~ 48 crackers)
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 3/4 cups whole-wheat flour
(or 1 1/4 wh.wh. plus 1/2 rye flour)
1/2 cup sugar (I put in just a little splenda instead)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 cup cold butter, cut into 1/4-1/2 inch cubes
2 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoon molasses
1/4 cup cold water
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
In a food processor, mix together the flours, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Add the cold butter and process until the mixture resembles coarse meal, about 30 seconds or so. Add the honey, molasses, water, and vanilla. Mix until the dough startes to come together in a ball, another 30 seconds. Scrape dough out of the mixer.
Between 2 sheets of waxed or parchment paper, roll the dough 1/8-inch thick. Chill for at least 1 hour, until firm. I skipped this part & just rolled them out on my kitchenaid mat with a little flour & baked right away.
Preheat oven to 350F. Retrieve dough and roll it a bit more if it is not yet 1/8-inch thick. With a sharp knife or pizza cutter, cut into 2-inch squares. Arrange the crackers on parchment lined baking sheets. With a toothpick, prick several holes in each cracker. If you cut/score the dough but leave the squares together, you can break them up after they’re baked.
Bake for 15 minutes, until lightly browned at the edges. Remove from the oven and let cool on the pan.
I also made something like Wheat Thins. This recipe makes a ton of crackers! I split my dough into thirds and made some spicy by adding cayenne pepper, did some italian by mixing in dried italian seasoning, garlic, & parmesan, and then left some plain. These are yummy too, but I think I over baked them a little as they are pretty dry. I have a few versions of this recipe, but this round was from Allrecipies.
Leave a Reply

Categories

