Posted by: itstrichy | February 26, 2008

I’m so behind

I have actually been cooking quite a bit lately. I also have contest entries that need posting. But I find that it takes so much time to load pictures and create links and paste everything together. So, I haven’t posted anything for a while. I need to load a new batch of pictures and then I should be able to get caught up later on. I’m always afraid to post too many updates at once though because then I figure people won’t want to take the time to read them all.

But in the mean time, here’s something I don’t have a photo for. You can probably picture it in your head anyway. This is what my mom always used to make for us as “stew.” I didn’t know until I was older that stew could be made with chunks of meat and had gravy in it and had to cook for a long time. So this is my “quick & dirty” stew recipe. I still love it. It can be made healthier by using the leanest beef you can find, or using turkey. You can add beans or peas too for more veggie power

Hamburger Stew:
.5-1.0 pounds ground beef or turkey
1/2 cup chopped onion, or 1 TBSP dried onion flakes
1 clove garlic, chopped OR garlic powder to taste
2 medium-large potatoes, peeled & chopped into 1 inch cubes
3 carrots, peeled, & chopped into 1 inch lengths
1 cup corn
1 can beef broth OR two cups hot water with 2 tsp beef bullion
salt & pepper

Chop veggies and place carrots & potatoes in a sauce pan or stock pot with the broth. Boil over medium high heat.

Brown hamburger in a skillet, adding salt, pepper, onion and garlic after about a minute.

Once veggies have boiled for 5 minutes, add corn and reheat to boiling.

Drain both pans and add items together. Stir, sprinkle with a bit more salt & pepper, & serve with warm bread or biscuits.

Leave a Reply

Categories

