Posted by: zebe912 | February 20, 2008

Baking Day

Yesterday I had a snow day. Since B had just discovered all of his sandwich bread was soon to turn green, I decided I had better bake him a new loaf while I had time to be at home. While I was at it, I wanted to make something yummy for myself. I was going to make up some cinnamon rolls, but then ran across the printout I had of Food Revolution’s “Prize Winning Cinnamon Roll Coffee Cake.” Since I’ve always loved the taste of cinnamon rolls, but not necessarily the product itself (sticky & messy), I decided this would be a worthwhile experiment.

Holy crap, it really is yummy! It also has like a cup of butter in it, but eh. I think half of it is gone already and it makes a BIG wreath! I suppose I could take a photo, but L’s looked just about the same as mine and most of ours is missing. She says it was super time consuming, but I thought it actually went pretty quickly. I make all of our bread at home, though, so I guess I’m used to waiting around for bread to proof.

Since I already had one bowl proofing, I experimented with the loaf bread as well. B likes whole wheat breads, and I find them a hassle to make because they don’t usually like to rise for me. So this time I tried an oatmeal bread that has old fashioned oats as well as whole wheat flour in it. I haven’t gotten reviews yet, but this was certainly the prettiest loaf of whole wheat that I have probably ever made. It rose so well that I thought there was no way it was going to only make one loaf. It did, but it was a really nice big one. This recipe is from the “Simply In Season” cookbook which is all about buying locally and eating “in season.”

Everyday Oatmeal Bread (makes 2 large loaves)

30 MINUTES AHEAD combine & soak:
1 1/2 cups boiling water, 1 cup rolled oats

Add to oatmeal and stir:
3/4 cup molasses (I had to use part dark corn syrup)
3 TBSP butter or oil
2 tsp salt

Dissolve 1 TBSP yeast into 2 cups warm water and add to oatmeal/molasses mixture.

Gradually add until a soft dough is created:
2 cups whole wheat flour (I use whole wheat white or whole wheat pastry flour)
6 cups bread flour

Turn onto a well floured surface or use dough hook to knead for 8-10 minutes, until smooth.
Place in a greased bowl, turning once to grease both sides of dough.
Let rise until doubled. (~1 hour)
Punch down, divide, and shape into two loaves. Place each into a greased 9×5 inch loaf pan.
Cover and let rise until double (~45 minutes)
Bake in preheated oven at 400 degrees for 5 minutes, then lower heat to 350 and bake until loaves sound hollow when tapped. (35-40 minutes).
Brush tops with milk for a soft crust.
Let cool in pan for 5 minutes and then turn onto a wire rack.

I do have metric conversions for this recipe if anyone wants/needs them.

Leave a Reply

Categories

