Posted by: zebe912 | February 18, 2008

Cupcake Hero #3 Entry

I finally found a few moments to bake up my entry for the cupcake hero competition. This is my first try at creating my own recipe and merging it with my own tastes. Since our theme ingredient was liquor, my first thought was Kahlua with chocolate, since it is something I’ve played with before, and something I love. Often, if we’re out and I can’t decide what I want to drink, I go for a White Russian. They remind me a bit of extra tasty chocolate milk.

So, I introduce:

White Russian Cupcakes

I will admit that I borrowed ideas from lots of places. My friend Jen gave me a mix-based Kahlua Cake recipe in the past, so I combined her recipe with one that won the last Cupcake Hero contest. I filled the cupcakes with a vanilla cream/custard and then topped it all off with a Kahlua fudge icing. When I looked at the amount of Kahlua in this, I was a little worried it would be too strong. But, my hubby, the liquor lightweight, liked them and didn’t make any funny faces, so I think it was a successful combination. The cream is a nice “break” from the extreme chocolate-ness of the rest of the recipe. But they are oh so yummy.

Kahlua ChipCupcakes:
*Preheat oven to 400 degrees

1/4 cup stick butter
1/4 cup cocoa
1/4 cup oil
1/2 cup Kahlua or other coffee liqueur
*Melt the butter in a small saucepan over low heat. Stir in cocoa and oil until combined. Remove from heat and add Kahlua. Stir until smooth.

In a separate bowl combine:
1 cup all-purpose or cake flour
1 cup sugar
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 TBSP buttermilk powder
*Gradually beat in the cocoa mixture by hand or on low speed. Then add
1/4 cup milk
1/4 cup plain yogurt
1 egg
1/2 tsp vanilla
*Combine until smooth and uniform, but do not over beat.
*Fold in 1/3 cup miniature chocolate chips
*Line cupcake tin with paper liners (you’ll need about 14-16) and scoop just under 1/4 cup of batter into each liner. Fill any unused wells (no liners) about half way with water.
*Bake 15-20 minutes or until tester in middle of cupcakes comes out clean.
*Cool on wire rack.

Cream Filling:
1/3 cup powdered sugar
2 TBSP cornstarch
1/8 tsp salt
2 cups milk (whole milk or thick cream work best for thicker cream)
2 large egg yolks, slightly beaten
2 TBSP stick butter, softened
2 tsp vanilla
*Mix sugar, cornstarch & salt in a cold saucepan. Gradually stir in cold milk. Place over medium heat and stir constantly until mixture thickens and begins to boil. Boil for 2 minutes, stirring constantly, then remove from heat. Gradually add spoonfuls of the hot mixture to the egg yolks and stir, until half of the hot mixture has been added to the yolks. Then add the yolks back into the rest of the cream and stir well. Boil and stir one more minute and then remove from heat. (This doesn’t firm up a lot during the cooling process so if it looks too runny to work with, keep cooking & stirring for another minute or two.) Stir in butter and vanilla until margarine is completely melted. Cool completely.

Kahlua Chocolate Frosting:
1/3 cup Hershey Special Dark cocoa powder
3 TBSP boiling water
1 TBSP Kahlua or other coffee liqueur
4 TBSP (1/2 stick) butter, softened
2 cups sifted powdered sugar
1/8 tsp ground cinnamon
* Place cocoa powder in a mixing bowl and pour in boiling water and Kahlua. Stir until mixture forms a soft mass. Add the butter and blend until well combined. Gradually add powdered sugar and cinnamon, beating until sugar is incorporated. Whisk, or beat with electric mixer on medium an additional 2 minutes to make frosting fluffy.

Assembly:
Just before serving, fit a #22 star tip into a piping bag and fill with cooled cream. Press tip into top of cupcake and squeeze to fill with cream. You will start to notice the cake expanding a little bit, so that is when you want to stop. Otherwise, you end up with a big mess! However, more filling does make these even more yummy, so experiment! (You can do this ahead of time, but sogginess might result & the cakes need to be refridgerated if they are filled with cream).

Spread frosting over top of cupcake with a metal spatula, or pipe on with a decorating tip, covering the “injection site”. Sprinkle with mini chocolate chips, if desired, or decorate. These would look great with a white chocolate drizzle on top.

Enjoy!!

Responses

  1. Those sound fantastic. I swear all the recipes this month look great

  2. Dang girl. I C/Ped to make later. Great job!

  3. Sounds super yummy!

  4. Those sound so good! I’ll have to try them soon. I just made snickerdoodle cupcakes (from I heart cuppycakes), and they’re amazing…..I’m gonna gain so much weight from all these blogs!

  5. Yep, food blogs are dangerous to the waistline, especially if you prefer baking over cooking! Thanks ladies. Since it is my first entry I’m just hoping for an “honorable mention” at least. My favorite part of the whole thing was making the mini bottle of kahlua though.

  6. Wow, these look amazing! One question, though… Where does one get Buttermilk Powder?

  7. Buttermilk powder is available a few places. You can get it at some health food stores, but it is more expensive there. Otherwise look in the baking aisle and/or where the powdered milk is at the grocery store. It comes in a tub rather than a box and can be kept much longer than regular buttermilk. You just put the powder in with your dry ingredients and then put the corresponding amount of milk in with your wet ingredients and it counts the same as buttermilk.

  8. Oh how I love me some Kahlua~ let me count the ways…
    You made a boozy chocolate Boston Cream! 😉
    Wonderful entry. I have no clue how on this green earth we will ever decide this month!


Leave a Reply

Categories

