Posted by: zebe912 | February 16, 2008

Valentine’s Day

Ok, I’m a little late, but I’ve been doing taxes, which totally fries my brain. I am so NOT a numbers person.  However, I do have the best hubby ever.

We had to do our Valentine’s Day on Wednesday since it’s the only night we are both home. Brian had two dozen multicolored roses delivered to me at school which made me VERY happy. He got lots of kudos from everyone who walked past my office.  After a few phone calls asking for advice while I was out running errands, he had dinner cooked and on the table when I got home.

  

Lets just say he was pretty proud of himself, especially because he used the broiler (which he calls the double broiler, because he can’t seem to distinguish between the hot oven setting and the stacking double boiler pans I use to melt chocolate). Anyway, when he finally decides he’s going to cook, he does a good job. It takes him forever to prepare things, but that’s just part of being a beginner. He did awesome, and even got the rice pilaf to turn out better than I ever have.

The carribbean shrimp was an ode to our USVI honeymoon, and while it was just a little too spicy for me, the rice made it bearable. I think cutting down on the pepper would be an easy fix. Cooked shrimp was on sale, so he used that and just reduced the broiling time a little. They turned out great! He also cut up apples, oranges, pineapple, & banana for a nice fruit salad. We got to have cupcakes & cookies from my sister for dessert. Yum!

Carribean Shrimp recipe from Recipezaar #13011

Savory Pilaf (from my old Betty Crocker book)
2 TBSP margarine or butter
1/4 chopped onion
1 cup uncooked rice or bulgur
2 cups chicken broth (Or one can plus 2 TBSP water)
1/4 tsp salt

Melt margarine in 2 quart sauce pan over medium heat. Cook onion in margarine until just tender, but not browned. Stir in rice & cook for 5 minutes stirring frequently (this kind of toasts the grains). Add broth & salt & stir occasionally until mixture comes to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer 16 minutes (do not lift cover off…I also seal the pan with foil & then put the lid on to trap more steam). Cover and let steam an additional 5 minutes.

NOTE: I have never gotten the rice to cook in 16 minutes. The bulgur is done in that amount of time, but the rice needs more like 30-45 minutes to get tender. If making the rice, I suggest starting it about an hour before you want to serve it. This is what B did and it turned out perfectly. The bulgur (cracked wheat) version is an awesome change of pace. To add even more options, you can make an “Indian” version you can add 1/2 cup chopped dried fruit or raisings, 1/4 tsp allspice, 1/4 tsp turmeric & 1/4 tsp curry powder when you add the broth. For a Mushroom Pilaf, add a 4 oz can (drained) of chopped mushrooms when you pour in the broth.

Responses

  1. Wow, what a guy! We just went out to dinner…
    🙂

  2. wow that is quite a spread!

  3. He cooks one, maybe two days a year, so at least he makes it worth while!! I was pretty surprised that he thought to pull out the champagne flutes & placemats though! We ate on our card table so that it could be in front of the fireplace. Well, that and because the dining room table was covered in a pattern I had pinned & ready to cut.


Leave a Reply

Categories

