Posted by: zebe912 | February 1, 2008

Twinkle Toes

More like tortured toes today, actually.  I just got done with my new ballet class, which is “beginning” pointe.  So far there isn’t much beginning level anything.  But, I got to put my toe shoes on and work out for the first time in five years.  The fact that I’m not screaming in agonizing pain because pointe screwed up my ankle makes me VERY happy.  I wasn’t in top form, for sure, and I have a lot of strengthening still to do, but I was able to do everything in the class!  That is a major accomplishment seeing as I had to stop dancing in 2004 because my ankle was in pain all the time.  I’m really weak, and my posture is atrocious, but my teachers are patient and understanding.  They are teaching me a lot of new ways to think about the exercises and what I need to do to get stronger.

Better yet, it has been hinted that there might be some dance recital opportunities for me at my old studio this summer if I don’t end up going to Europe.  So, if I can get strong by then, that would be super fun!

Responses

  1. Woohoo! Good for you, Dawn! Getting in shape feels SO good!

  2. Al, I think my toes might disagree with you! I’m sure once my muscles get more used to this again it will feel much better to work out. For now, it hurts!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

