Posted by: zebe912 | January 29, 2008

A Light Supper

Yesterday I got a huge craving for hummus & tabouleh thanks to Lorena. I decided to buy hummus since I went to the store with the brand that I like best. I couldn’t find tabbouleh anywhere, and I hate making it from a mix, so I picked up a bunch of parsley (which I proceeded to somehow not bring home from the store & so B had to pick up a second bunch for me.)  This is technically a Middle-Eastern salad, but I tend to use it as a dip, just like the hummus I enjoy eating with it.  My favorite is putting turkey & co-jack cheese on/in my naan and then dipping it into hummus & tabouleh.  I may just have to eat this for dinner again tonight since B isn’t awake yet & I have to run to a practice.

The parsley from both stores was really sandy and grubby. Yuck! So I blasted it with the sprayer and put it through the salad spinner a few times. After a quick whirl (literally) in my new food processor attachment, I had parsley pieces just the perfect size.  I have never had good luck chopping parsley with a knife, even when I follow the directions on all of the cooking shows.  So this is just another reason why I love the attachments to Cuisie, my mixer.

This is the type of food that everyone has their own version of that tastes “right” to them.  I like lots of parsley, but most people use more grain.  I adapted the recipe that I have in my Betty Crocker cookbook:

Stir together equal parts (3/4 to 1 cup each) chopped parsley and cooked or soaked bulghar (see notes below).

Finely chop & add 2 green onions, or add 1 tsp dried green onion flakes.

Stir in 1 TBSP each of olive oil and lemon juice. Adjust to taste and sprinkle with salt & pepper.

If you have fresh mint on hand, you can add about 1 TBSP of finely chopped mint.  If you like tomato, add small chopped pieces and stir in.

Stir all items together and let it rest for 1 hour. (Often, I don’t wait, but the flavors blend better if you do.

NOTES:  The original recipe that I have puts in way more lemon juice & olive oil, but then the parsley just wilts while it is resting.  I’ve found that I can get a good taste, with less soggy parsley if I limit the amount I put in.   This time I used leftover bulghar pilaf from the night before.  It worked really well.  If you don’t have cooked bulghar around, you can soak the dry grain (its also called cracked wheat) in cold water for 30 minutes and then drain well prior to mixing with parsley.

Responses

  1. Oh yum! This sounds really good. I may be making this for SuperBowl. Not a traditional SB dish, but that’s alright by me!

    Keep blogging, girl! I love your BUs. 🙂

  2. I would LOVE to have this at a SB party. it would be a nice break from all the heavy fattening stuff! Parsley is supposed to be good for freshening your breath too, after you eat a bunch of chili and such.


Leave a Reply

Categories

