Posted by: itstrichy | January 22, 2008

It’s not delivery…

The other night I really had a taste for 3 cheezer bread from Hungry Howies. It was gross outside & I wasn’t feeling spectacular so I wasn’t about to drive over and get any. We’re short on cash too, so I decided I would try my hand at making some. I’ve never had the best of luck making breadsticks out of pizza dough, so I decided to try something different this time as the base. They were so yummy that I forgot to take a picture before we ate them all up.

French bread base
(double this if you want to use whole packet of yeast)

1 1/2 to 1 3/4 cups flour (all purpose or bread flour)
1/2 TBSP sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 package yeast (or 1 1/8 tsp)
1/2 cup very warm water
1 TBSP vegetable oil

Mix dry ingredients together in a large bowl. Add water and oil. Beat with electric mixer on low for 1 minute, scrape the bowl, and beat at medium for 1 minute. Slowly add enough flour to create a soft dough. (I usually do this with the dough hook going, and add until the dough doesn’t stick to the bowl anymore.) Knead the dough for 5 minutes.

Grease the inside of a clean bowl, and the surface of the dough. Cover with plastic wrap & a towel and let rise in a warm place until double in size.  (They suggest 1-1/2 hours, but if you use rapid rise yeast it goes faster.)

For Bread sticks:
Preheat oven to 350*. Roll dough into about a 10×8 inch rectangle and place on a cookie sheet. Spread with a thin layer of butter or margarine. Sprinkle with , 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese, 1/4 cup cheddar cheese, and 1/8 cup Parmesan cheese. Top with a pinch of garlic powder, and Italian seasoning OR oregano & basil. Bake for about 10 minutes, or until cheese is melted and bread releases from pan if you slide a spatula under it. Cut into strips with a pizza cutter. Serve warm with marinara or pizza sauce.

For French Bread Loaf:
Preheat oven to 375*. Roll dough into a 12 x 8 rectangle. Starting at the longer edge, roll dough up tightly and seal the seam. Roll gently back & forth to round off the ends. Place on ungreased cookie sheet & bake for 25-30 minutes or until tops are golden brown.  This is amazing served warm with olive oil and italian spices for dipping.  It also works well if cut into cubes and served with cheese fondue.

Responses

  1. By the way, this is my favorite bread recipe of all time. I will probably never buy Italian or French bread from the bakery again. As far as bread dough goes, this is one of the easiest I’ve made and everyone loves this. The flavored olive oil for dipping goes super well with the texture and flavor of this bread.

  2. Yay for cooking from scratch!!! I haven’t made anything pizza dough-y or bread-y for a while…the yeast rising just deters me. This sounds so yummy though!!!

  3. ooohhh i am all about bready doughy goodness. I starred it to make later!

  4. Yum! I love bread and cheese. Must make these, for sure!

  5. These are definitely the best breadsticks I’ve ever made. I can’t believe that they worked out so well for being my very first try at the cheesy bread.


Leave a Reply

Categories

