Posted by: zebe912 | January 15, 2008

Monthiversary # 6

Monday marked our “6 month anniversary.” I made a version of pad thai and a mini replica of our wedding cake. For the wedding we didn’t have any filling, mostly because it didn’t occur to me to do so at the time. But since I had extra cherry cake filling in the fridge, I decided to use it. So this was cherry chip cake with cherry filling and buttercream icing. YUMMY! I must admit that I LOVE being able to eat our “wedding cake” whenever we feel inspired to do so. So to all of those who thought I was nuts to make my own wedding cake 😛 It has paid off.

Why did I do this now instead of for our one year anniversary? Well, for one, because I could. Secondly, I’m hoping that we’ll be in Europe for our 1 year, which means no kitchen. But if we’re in the states, I’ll be making a one year cake too. Probably one of the other flavors that we had.  Pictures of the actual wedding cake are on my baking page.

6 mo anniversary cake Anniversary Set Up

You can see we really dressed up

Thai Shrimp & Noodles recipe at: http://www.recipezaar.com/34450

Notes: I used flat rice noodles instead of spaghetti. I cooked per the recipe, but everything came out very mushy. We really liked the shrimp in this sauce, but not the mushy noodles. If I make this again, I’ll use less vinegar, add just a touch of sugar, and not cook things as long, to see if that helps. The dish was really good except for the consistency. The instructions also say to leave the tails on, but it is just a pain to have to fish them out of your noodles. Either buy shrimp without tails, or remove them before cooking.

Responses

  1. your cake is GORGEOUS! If I had your talent I would have made my own cake too! 🙂
    -Clara


Leave a Reply

Categories

