Posted by: zebe912 | June 8, 2008

WooHoo! Success…back in the game!

Since beginning this new way of eating, I’ve had to really start following recipes again.   I’ve had a hard time navigating the world of gluten free food. The flours and binding agents alone are enough to drive a person batty. Since sugar & Splenda are off limits, I’m also trying to get a handle on how to sweeten without those. Baking is the hardest, because liquids like agave nectar & honey don’t caramelize the same way as granulated or brown sugar.

Today, however, not only did I make a successful dish….I did it sans recipe!! This means progress on my part and it makes me very happy. The fact that I was able to do it in my mom’s non-GF-friendly kitchen was even better.

When I woke up this morning, my sister was eating breakfast. She said “I tried to make gluten free waffles, but the cable is out so I couldn’t get online to find a recipe.” Little did she know that she probably wouldn’t have had any of the ingredients anyway.  I was just happy that she thought about trying to make something I could eat too.  Once she sparked my curiosity (and taste for waffles), I foraged for some almonds.  Based on my success making GF Blondies and Carrot Cake from Elena’s Pantry, I decided that waffles couldn’t be that hard.  I also thought that with almonds as the base, rather than all purpose flour, they’d be lots healthier. The recipe could still use some tweaking, and maybe even some actual measurements, but the point is that I liked it, ate it, and will make it again!

Gluten Free Waffles
(These are guess-timated measurements, I just threw things in until it looked like regular waffle batter.  I only made enough for myself.)

Begin by preheating your waffle iron & spray or brush with oil.

  • Put 1/2 cup of almonds in a food processor and pulverize until very fine.
  • Add about a 1/2 TBSP honey or agave nectar (more if you like sweet waffles).
  • Drizzle in a small amount of Canola Oil until the nut bits begin to stick together and look doughy.
  • Stop the machine.
  • Add 1/8 tsp baking powder, 1 egg and a 1/2 TBSP of milk (or liquid milk sub.)
  • Mix just until incorporated.
  • If the mixture is too thick to slide easily off of a spoon, then add small amounts of milk or water until it can.
  • Pour the appropriate amount of batter into your waffle iron and proceed following manufacturer’s directions.

I hope that you like these.  I’ll post an updated version once I work with the amounts.  I would love to hear about your experiments if you adapt this recipe.

Responses

  1. Yay glad you had a successful go at your gluten free food!

  2. You go gluten-free girl! Great job!

  3. Way to go!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

